The destinations for world football (soccer) fans for the summer of 2026 were determined on Thursday

as FIFA announced the host cities and stadiums for the World Cup

The event, which returns to North America for the first time since 1994

will be jointly hosted by the Canada, Mexico, and the United States, spread across 16 host cities

two in Canada, three in Mexico, and the remaining 11 in the United States.

For the 2026 event, 48 teams will participate in the tournament

rising from the 32-team configuration that has been in place since 1998 and will see its final run with the 2022 World Cup in Qatar later this year

Sixty contests will be played in the united States, with Mexico and Canada hosting 10 each

The games from the quarterfinal knockout stage on will all be played in the United States.